Sport Personality of the Year!!

Hi Guys,

Ten of the UK’s top sports stars have been nominated for this year’s BBC Sports Personality of the Year award.

Coming from four nations of the UK and representing six very different sports, the 10 have thrilled audiences around the world in 2011 and each now have a chance of being crowned the 58th BBC Sports Personality of the Year.

The winner will be selected by public vote during the live show on Thursday, 22 December!!!

The shortlist is: Mark Cavendish (cycling), Darren Clarke (golf), Alastair Cook (cricket), Luke Donald (golf), Mo Farah (athletics), Dai Greene (athletics), Amir Khan (boxing), Rory McIlroy (golf), Andy Murray (tennis), Andrew Strauss (cricket).

The shortlist of 10 was put together by a panel of sports editors from national and regional newspapers and magazines.

Presented by Sue Barker, Gary Lineker and Jake Humphrey, the show will broadcast live on BBC One from MediaCityUK, Salford, with some of the biggest names in world sport expected to attend.

There is one main issue however with the shortlist; the absence of women but Jake Humphrey, speaking to BBC Breakfast, is keen for it not to overshadow the achievements of those on the list.

“We’ve got some amazing women, it’s disappointing but it is the way it is. It’s not a sexist competition,” he said.

“Nothing should take anything away from these guys. Don’t expect to not see the Solheim Cup and the England women’s cricket team on the programme.”

Lineker, who announced the list on The One Show, added: “It perhaps has not been as strong a year for women but I’m sure that will change next year with the Olympics with the likes of Jess Ennis and Rebecca Adlington.”

He also pointed out that no footballers or rugby players had made the shortlist this year.

Alongside the main award of Sports Personality of the Year, won last year by Jockey Tony Mccoy, there will also be awards for: Team of the Year, Coach of the Year, Overseas Sports Personality of the Year, Young Sports Personality of the Year, Lifetime Achievement, Helen Rollason Award, Sports Unsung Hero.

So who would you want to win??

Sunglass World would love to see Mark Cavendish as he has had an incredible year for Britain, some of his achievements include:

Britain’s first winner of the Tour de France green jersey – the award for the race’s best sprinter

Cavendish, has now won 20 stages of the race in his career – putting him sixth on the all-time list,

The 26-year-old also achieved another stunning landmark in 2011, as he became Britain’s first male world road race champion for 46 years.

The only other British cyclist to win the road world title, Tommy Simpson, won Sports Personality the same year – 1965.

What a year he has had!! So who will you vote for?

We will be watching on the 22nd to see who comes out on top!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s